SAY / TELL / TALK / SPEAK

 

         Uses      Examples
 

 

 

      Say

-Used with direct and indirect speech

 

-Say is most used without a personal object

If we want to put a personal object after say, we use to.

-She said that it was my last chance.

-He said “Good morning”

-And I say to all the people of this great country …

 

 

 

 

 

     Tell

-Used with direct and indirect speech after tell, we usually say who is told, i.e., tell someone something.

– only used to mean “instruct” or “inform”

– tell is used to tell someone to do something

– tell is not used before objects like a word, a name, a sentence, a phrase.

 

 

–          she told me that she would be late.

–          She told me that was my last chance.

–          I don’t want to tell you again to get your homework done.

 

 

 

    Talk

– There is not very much difference between speak and talk.

– talk is the more usual word to refer to conversational exchanges and  informal situations

– When she walked into the room everybody stopped talking.
 

 

   Speak

Is often used for one-way communication and for exchanges in more serious or formal situations.

– Speak is the usual word to refer knowledge and use of languages.

– I’ll have to speak to that boy- he’s getting really lazy.

– After she had finished reading the letter, nobody spoke.

– She speaks three languages fluently.

 

 

 

Complete the sentences with: to tell, to speak, to speak, to talk in the correct form:

 

a)    I don’t want to ___________ about this.

 

b)   ________her that I’m coming tomorrow.

 

c)    What did you __________ to her?

 

d)   I __________ my mom that I planned to come home for Christmas.

 

e)    We have to ____________ them that we plan to lunch the new product this week.

 

f)    What did your boss _________ to you about?

 

g)    We __________ about a lot of different topics.

 

h)   He __________ that he was satisfied with my work.

 

i)     Why didn’t you ___________ me?

 

 

Ostavite odgovor

